Monthly Movies: December 2013

tumblr_mysdn8GGWH1ssgfupo10_r1_250 tumblr_mysdn8GGWH1ssgfupo8_r1_250 tumblr_mysdn8GGWH1ssgfupo9_r1_400 tumblr_mysdn8GGWH1ssgfupo7_r1_250 tumblr_mysdn8GGWH1ssgfupo6_r1_400tumblr_mysdn8GGWH1ssgfupo2_r1_250tumblr_mysdn8GGWH1ssgfupo5_r1_250 tumblr_mysdn8GGWH1ssgfupo4_r1_250 tumblr_mysdn8GGWH1ssgfupo3_r1_400

 

Oh gosh, we’ve reached the final Monthly Movies post for 2013! (and I’ve posted this in 2014, sorry I’m late to the party)

I think I was supposed to watch Christmas movies this month but there only seems to be one in the bunch. Anyways, let’s get on with it.

Love Actually

My sister recommended that I watch this. I actually like chick flicks and this one did not disappoint. It kind of reminded me of ‘Valentine’s Day’ with a cast that was full of famous celebrities. This movie just made me happy and put me in a Christmas-y mood, so yay!

Prisoners

Isabelle told me this movie was bad so I wasn’t expecting much, but now that I’ve seen it, I have to disagree. I thought the story was interesting (I always like kidnapping stories and how they end up finding the missing person) and it wasn’t too cliche. The movie was a little bit slow but it was extremely tense especially during the torture scene. So yeah, I recommend this one c:

The Hobbit: Desolation of Smaug

The Hobbit movies so far haven’t really impressed me that much. Both of them have been pretty slow and I don’t feel the need for 3 movies. I understand that they’re trying to string it out and make as much money as possible, but it’s a waste of time and money. Although, what I did like about the movie was the landscape and sets. They’re always eye capturing and fun to look at. One thing that disappointed me in DoS was the use of a GoPro camera during the barrel scene? Like, what the hell? You’d think that a movie with a million dollar budget would be able to create a short water scene with CGI. Other than that, I quite liked it, but I wouldn’t go and watch it a second time.

Batman Begins

I’ve seen The Dark Knight and The Dark Knight Rises but not the original Batman Begins (for some reason idk). After watching it though, I’ve fallen in love with Batman again. I mean, after watching TDK, I had an almost obsession with Batman, and now it’s back. My love for Christian Bale is endless which made this movie for me. No complaints from me (for once)

The Departed

I believe this is the third or fourth Scorsese movie that I’ve watched, after Goodfellas, which I loved. I have a thing for gangster movies. But yeah, Scorsese’s famous for being an amazing director so I’m trying to watch more of his movies. The Departed is on the IMDb’s Top 250 I think so it was next on my list. I really like this movie. I thought it was a bit long and started off a little bit slow, but the plot is really interesting. I believe that it’s been done before (2 undercover spies, each working for the other’s opposition). The performances by DiCaprio and Damon were really good, I loved their characters. I also have a thing for DiCaprio. So yeah, I thought it was a really good movie overall.

Trainspotting

This movie was just about drugs really. I’ve seen the title float around some of Reddit’s ‘top movie’ threads and finally decided to check it out. I don’t understand why it’s such highly praised. The main character, a heroine addict attempts to become clean, but throughout the movie he continues to relapse and then try to clean himself up again. And this happens about 3 times. It really frustrated me. This movie’s a bit different from what I usually watch so it was a weird experience, and some of the scenes were so trippy and kind of freaking me out. I have mixed feelings about this movie, so no comment.

When Harry Met Sally

Here’s another chick flick that I’ve heard way too much about. It’s one of those ‘classics’ that everyone has to watch soooooo I was disappointed. When the movie ended, I was left thinking, “That’s it?”. I’m not sure if was just me, or my taste but I thought the end was kind of rushed? Like, the whole movie built up to him admitting that he loved her, but then it was just like – speech… the end. Although, I got to experience those famous scenes and I guess that’s all that I got out of watching it.

Reservoir Dogs

Oh look another gangster movie. And it’s from Quentin Tarantino – my two favourite things. If you can’t tell with the theme of the monthly movies these past couple of months, I’m going through ‘classics’ and ‘must-watch’ movies. Seeing as I’m in love with QT, it’s one of his more famous ones that I haven’t seen. The movie’s organised in chapters, as are most of his movies with really cool characters and a plot that begins in the midst of the ‘action’ (or lack of action in this case). There’s pretty much only one set for the entire movie but I appreciate how the story progressed throughout the movie. It’s not my favourite QT movie, but I still quite like it. Also not my favourite gangster movie, but I can deal.

Paranoia

Movie that I’ve never heard of, and yet has Liam Hemsworth, Harrison Ford and . I thought the idea for this movie was pretty well thought out and it’s original. The only thing though is that it takes a while to get started and progresses slowly. This movie got really bad reviews, and I can understand why (some cheesy dialogue here and there, boring) but I think the points that are made can be forgiven because of great acting performances and a good story. Pretty good movie.

And that concludes the last monthly movies post of 2013! Thanks for sticking around and I’ll be back with more movies at the end of January c:

Leave a comment